HAURUN: California Heavy Psych Collective To Release Wilting Within Debut September 22nd Via Small Stone Recordings; New Track Streaming + Preorders Available

Photo by Seydina Seck

Oakland, California-based heavy psych collective HAURUN will release their spellbinding debut full-length, Wilting Within, September 22nd via Small Stone Recordings.

HAURUN is the product of five musicians with a love of dark tones and psychedelia. Through the mysterious world of Craig’s List, guitarist Joel Panton and drummer Eliot Rennie began writing music in 2018 with shared influences of Black Sabbath, Earth, and Kyuss. After a long and challenging search to find the right musicians, they banded together with vocalist Lyra Cruz, guitarist Daniel Schwiderski, and bassist Joel Lacey to deliver a sound that’s heavy whilst deeply emotive.

The band’s stunning debut, Wilting Within, is a journey through layers of slow burning verses and expansive choruses, infused with the enchanting power of Cruz’s vocals. HAURUN blends the hypnotic riffs of doom metal and the gritty essence of grunge to deliver a fresh sound, casting psychedelic spells on the listener.

In advance of the record’s official unveiling, HAURUN reveals first single, “Lunar,” a sonic voyage through hypnotic melodies, heavy distortion, and psychedelia. Lyra’s ethereal vocals intertwine with layers of sludgy guitar riffs, transcendent soundscapes, and mystique that is signature to HAURUN’s style.

Stream HAURUN’s “Lunar” at THIS LOCATION.

Wilting Within was recorded and engineered with the mighty Phil Becker at El Studio in San Francisco, California who captured the intensity and melodic soundscape of HAURUN’s live performance. Eric Hoegemeyer at the Tree Laboratory in Brooklyn, New York and Chris Goosman at Baseline Audio in Ann Arbor, Michigan worked their alchemical magic in mixing and mastering.

Wilting Within will be released on CD and digitally via Small Stone Recordings and on limited vinyl via Kozmik Artifactz. For preorders, visit THIS LOCATION.

Fans of Acid King, Windhand, YOB, King Buffalo, and Emma Ruth Rundle pay heed.

Wilting Within Track Listing:

1. Abyss 

2. Lost & Found

3. Tension 

4. Flying Low 

5. Lunar

6. Soil


Lyra Cruz – vocals

Joel Paul Lacey – bass

Daniel Schwiderski – guitar

Joel Panton – guitar

Eliot Rennie – drums

For HAURUN coverage contact


1 August 2023 Uncategorized