SS-174 :: IRATA – Tower

SS-174 :: IRATA –  Tower

Label: Small Stone Records

Release date: May 24th, 2019

Catalog number: SS-174

Buy now



Track List

  1. Tower
  2. Waking Eye
  3. Weightless
  4. Innocent Murmur
  5. Leviathan
  6. Crawl to Corners
  7. Golden Tongue
  8. Constellations

Album Info

Since its 2007 genesis at the hands of founding members Jon Case (bass, vocals) and Jason Ward (drums, vocals), this Greensboro, NC
outfit has mutated restlessly, moving from its initial Morphine-infused heavy fusion through math-y metal and finally to the soaring, technical heavy rock of its current approach. Over those dozen years, too, Irata has made its presence known in metal and hard rock circles throughout the Southeast and beyond. Now, and thanks to its growth from a trio to a four-piece with the addition of guitarist Owen Burd, Irata is evolving yet again.

With Burd’s talents on guitar, vocals and trumpet added to what had already felt like a complete equation, Ward notes, Irata is pushing itself to new vocal and instrumental heights. Accordingly, its upcoming LP Tower applies impressive musicianship and complex textures to increasingly approachable tunes that teeter between hard rock and prog-metal. It’s like the sports car version of Don Caballero.

Tower was recorded in vaunted hometown studio Legitimate Business and produced by All Them Witches guitarist Ben McLeod, with
co-production by Legit Biz engineer and heavy metal mastermind Kris Hilbert. Flavors of Mastodon, Kylesa, Helms Alee and Sandrider mix with Smashing Pumpkins-reminiscent textures and clarion Perry Farrell-style vocals, creating a heavy palette that is both innovative and

Tower is slated for release on Detroit’s Small Stone Records in May of 2019, with national and international tours in support of Tower to be announced.

RIYL: Jane’s Addiction, Mastodon, Kylesa, Helms Alee, Sandrider, All Them Witches, King Buffalo


Irata is:
Jon Case: bass guitar, vocals
Jason Ward: drums, vocals, synths, percussion
Cheryl Manner: guitar
Owen Burd: guitar, vocals, trumpet

Recorded at Legitimate Business Studios in Greensboro, NC.
Ben Mcleod: producer – wah pedal on “Waking Eye”.
Kris Hilbert: engineer and co-producer – secret guitar on “Weightless”.
Original art (watercolor) by Santos.
Layout by Phillip Yeary.
Craig Allen: Demo engineer and producer – on occasion live sound engineer.
Mastering: Mikey Allred at Dark Arts Studio .
Nic Stott: NVS drums.
Chris Parks: videography.
Mia Case: Innocent Murmur.
Brian Mitchell: Silber Media.
Matthew Laipple & Will Stephens: merchandise sales.

Published by Small Stone Records (ASCAP).