SS-195 :: FREE RIDE – Acido y Puto

SS-195 :: FREE RIDE – Acido y Puto

Label: Small Stone Records

Release date: August 9th, 2024

Catalog number: SS-195

Buy now



Track List

  1. Space Nomad
  2. Outsider
  3. Kosmik Swell
  4. Vice
  5. Nazaré
  6. Steamroller
  7. Joy
  8. Blackout
  9. Living For Today

Album Info

Born from the smoky depths of underground jam sessions in generator parties, Free Ride emerged from the haze with a thunderous blend of stoner rock, psychedelic grooves, and cosmic vibes. Formed in Madrid (Spain) by childhood friends Borja Fresno (vocals/guitar), Victor Bedmar (bass) and Carlos Bedmar (drums), the band came together in 2016 with a shared passion for heavy riffs and mind-expanding melodies.

Free Ride channels the spirit of the ’70s with their raw, unapologetic approach to rock music. Influenced by the likes of Hendrix, The Stooges and Black Sabbath, the band’s sound is a sonic tapestry of fuzzed-out riffs, pulsating rhythms, and lysergic solos that transport listeners to the outer reaches of the cosmos.

For their second album, ‘Acido y puto’, the band sought to capture the raw energy that flourished within the confines of their humble rehearsal room. Armed with nothing but their instruments, a few microphones, and an insatiable desire to create, they set out to capture the essence of their sound in its purest form. Produced by Borja himself and mixed and mastered by Matt Dougherty in Chicago, IL, the band’s DIY ethos permeates every aspect of the recording process, from engineering their own sessions to experimenting with different mic placements and recording techniques.

‘Acido y Puto’ it’s a sonic exploration of the human psyche and the depths of the unknown. This album delves into the mysterious and often unsettling aspects of existence, inviting listeners to confront their fears and embrace the darkness within. Musically, is a sonic journey that defies categorization, blending elements of psychedelia, punk-rock or even surf-rock into a fascinating soundscape. The result is an album that shimmers with crude intensity and cosmic energy, where each track is a testament to the band’s unyielding dedication to their craft.

For fans of: Brant Bjork, All Them Witches, Miss Lava, Black Elephant, La Chinga



Free Ride is:
Borja Fresno Benítez: vocals, guitars, synthesizer, percussion, sitar
Víctor Bedmar Lam: bass
Carlos Bedmar Lam: drums

All songs written by Borja Fresno Benítez.
Recorded in Madrid, Spain by Borja Fresno Benítez.
Produced by Borja Fresno Benítez.
Mixed and mastered by Matt Dougherty, Chicago, IL.
Vinyl mastering by Chris Goosman at Baseline Audio Labs, Ann Arbor, MI.
Artwork by Borja Fresno Benítez and Carlos Bedmar.