SS-074 :: GREENLEAF – Agents Of Ahriman

SS-074 :: GREENLEAF – Agents Of Ahriman

Label: Small Stone Records

Release date: June 10th, 2007

Catalog number: SS-074

Buy now


Alishan Mountain
Alishan Mountain


1. Highway Officer
2. Treehorn
3. Alishan Mountain
4. Black Tar
5. The Lake
6. Agents Of Ahriman
7. Ride Another Highway
8. Sleep Paralysis
9. Stray Bullet Woman




In theory, forming a rock group seems like a no brain’er. Get a group of musicians who have a shared love of certain bands and who can get along with each other for at least an hour. Hell, sometimes they don’t even have to be musicians (especially if you’re looking at the Top 40 charts). But in reality, it’s a lot tougher, as the essential ingredient? What makes the group truly unique and memorable – is something that can’t be defined, learned, or bought.

Call it talent, magic, or whatever you want, but Greenleaf’s got it. Asuper group of the stoner rock scene, the band was formed sometime in late 1999/early 2000 by guitarist Tommi Holappa (Dozer), drummer Daniel Liden (Demon Cleaner and the drummer on Dozer’s “Through the Eyes of Heathens,” and currently in AND The Machine Said Behold!, and engineer/ bassist Bengt Bäcke. Featuring a revolving cast of fellow musicians who share a love of heavy fuzz rock, including Fredrik Nordin (Dozer), Daniel Jansson (Stonewall Noise Orchestra), and Peder Bergstrand (Lowrider), Greenleaf has consistently defined what rock ‘n’ roll was, is, and should be. You put 2001’s “Revolution Rock” and 2003’s “Secret Alphabets” on and you’re going to have a hard time taking them off. The band cooks, because they’ve got that special ingredient.

It’s time to rejoice, because Greenleaf is back with “Agents of Ahriman.” Like their past releases, “Agents” is a righteous kick in the ass and a testament to the almighty riff. This time, Tommi and Bengt are joined by Oskar Cedermalm (Truckfighters) on vocals, Erik Bäckwall (Ex Dozer drummer) on drums, Jocke Åhslund (Payback) on Hammond organ, and a handful of guest appearances. This new lineup keeps Greenleaf moving forward without losing track of what made them great in the first place. Take note – this is what rock bands should sound like. Make way for the “Agents of Ahriman.”



Tommi Holappa: guitars
Bengt Bäcke: bass
Erik Bäckwall: drums
Oskar Cedermalm: vocals
Peder Bergstrand: vocals (Black Tar)
John Hermansen: vocals (Ride Another Highway)
Jocke Åhslund: hammond
John Hoyles: guitar solo (Highway Officer)
Linus Arnberg: mumblin’ man (Treehorn) and cowbell (Stray Bullit Woman)
Emil Leo: And Now What?!

Produced and mixed by Bengt Bäcke & Tommi Holappa.
Engineered by Bengt Bäcke.
Mastered by Chris Goosman at Solid Sound – Ann Arbor, MI.
Sleeve design, artwork and photos by Erik Bäckwall.
Recorded at: Rockhouse Studios – Borlänge, Sweden.
Additional Studios: Bombshelter – Örebro, Sweden & Grey Hate – Enköping, Sweden.